Bayside awards sail in

Support local, independent journalism

The SE Voice is the Limestone Coast’s only fully digital publication. Locally owned & operated, we deliver all the latest news & sport direct to your fingertips. We're run by a creative team of local journalists all based in the region. News as we know has changed - we're delivering it first and free. Thank you for your support in keeping local news alive.

Lechelle Earl, owner/editor

Bayside awards sail in

Port MacDonnell Sailing Club members, life members and special guests recently enjoyed a meal before the club’s annual presentation night.

Presentations were held at club sponsor the Victoria Hotel in Port MacDonnell.

One boat in the fleet had an exceptional season taking out a good portion of the 2023-2024 season trophies.

The Commodore’s trophy was awarded to Mack Ferguson on “Papillon” and was presented by Commodore Jennifer Jones.

This was accepted by John Kain as Mack Ferguson was not in attendance.

The Morambro Creek trophy, presented by David Bryson was awarded to Mack Ferguson on “Papillon”.

The Kevin Paisley Fashion Eyewear trophy was also presented by Brad Mann to Mack Ferguson on “Papillon”.

The Gaylard Family Trophy was presented by Jennifer Jones on behalf of the Gaylard family.

It was presented to John Kain on “Papillon” who accepted on behalf of Mack Ferguson.

An email of thanks from Stephanie Gaylard was also read by Jennifer Jones.

The Taylor Marine Trophy was given to Dennis Illman who accepted the trophy on speaker phone.

The Mount Glass and Glazing Trophy was presented by Matt Douglas to Nick Watson on “Billy”.

Rachel Johnstone presented the Victoria Hotel trophy which was won by Chris Lynch on “Sandrine”, accepted by David Bryson as Chris Lynch was absent.

The Discovery Bay Coastal Classic Trophy, sponsored by the Evans family, was this year won for the first time by Mack Ferguson on “Papillon”.

This race was won by the oldest skipper with the oldest crew sailing the oldest boat at the club, so a very good effort by all on board that day and Jennifer Jones read out email from Mack Ferguson accepting the award.

The 25 foot Championship for the larger boats was awarded to Tom Paltridge on “The Right Hand”, presented by David Evans.

The Starting Gun Trophy was awarded to the boat with the most first places across the start line, with Tom Paltridge receiving the honour donated by Craig Smith.

The overall handicap point score trophy was donated to the club by patrons Shayne Horrigan and John Kentish.

This was won by Mack Ferguson on “Papillon” and was presented to Graham McKay by Ted Jordan as both patrons were not in attendance.

The Class Basic Handicap Rose Bowl trophy, sponsored by the Jordan family, was awarded to Mack Ferguson on “Papillon”, with the trophy presented by Ted Jordan to Graham McKay and John Kain.

The Victoria Hotel also donated four vouchers to the club which were given presented in thanks for outstanding assistance during the sailing season.

These went to Ian Cunningham for time keeping duties, Yvonne Douglas for the hard work in collating results and working out trophy winners, Nick Watson for the new stairs and work around the club, and Briony and Max Schleuniger for race officer and timekeeping duties during the Coastal Classic.

The 2024- 2025 season will begin in October. New sailors and volunteers are always welcome.

The club is also looking for people willing to assist in driving the committee boat on race days.

Port MacDonnell Sailing Club can be contacted at or on their Facebook and Instagram pages.

Why wait? Get more stories like this delivered straight to your inbox
Join our digital edition mailing list and stay up to date on the latest news, events and special announcements from across the Limestone Coast.

Your local real estate guide - every Thursday


You might also like