Club merger shrinks footy league

The Mallee Football League is set to shrink to just five clubs in 2023.

At present, the competition is composed of five South Australian sides – Pinnaroo, Lameroo, Peake, Karoonda and Border Downs-Tintinara – as well as one Victorian side Murrayville.

However, Border Downs Tintinara has announced a conditional merger with Meningie and wants to play in the River Murray Football League next season.

The two clubs have issued a joint statement to the media about their intentions.

The statement outlined the investigative steps which had been taken.

“As unified clubs, we will work collectively over coming weeks to navigate and approve finer details of the amalgamation and all regulatory obligations,” stated the media release.

“While both clubs’ joint intentions are clear to amalgamate, the ultimate decision is still conditional upon final agreement between the Border Downs Tintinara and Meningie clubs and approval from all relevant State and regional sporting organisations.

“We understand the outcome is not unexpected within our communities.

“This is a positive result for the long-term sustainable sport within our region, a bright future in an expanded Coorong community network and looking forward to all getting behind this exciting opportunity.

“Equally, we appreciate the decision has ramifications for both the Mallee Football and Netball and River Murray Football and Netball Leagues and their associated clubs.

“While respecting the past, we would like to acknowledge specifically the impact this may have on the Mallee Football and Netball Association.

“We wish all clubs and leagues the greatest respect and wishes for their futures.

“Our committees are committed to developing all processes to the end, ‘with much to do’ we look forward to fostering relationships and a new home for winter sport within our region.”

- Buying, renting or selling? Don't go past -