Ladies Club Championships contested at Attamurra

The culmination of golf over the last four weeks led to the finals of the Ladies Club Championships which were contested last week at Attamurra. Players were presented with well-manicured fairways, perfect greens and beautiful sunshine to assist them with their challenges.

The A grade match between last year’s champion, Kerry Pedlar and Jennifer Van Rijthoven over 36 holes was a pleasure to witness with players scoring 82 and 81 off the stick over the first 18 holes.

After lunch, both players battled hard in the next 18 and Pedlar was 1 up after nine holes but Van Rijthoven kept pressuring Pedlar with her long game to be square after 11 holes, however Pedlar’s accuracy on the greens on the last few holes enabled her to claim her back to back win for the Club Championship finishing 3/2.

The B grade final over 36 holes was between Anne Headlam and Janina Morrison saw the experienced and in form Headlam play a solid match. Morrison, new to the golf match play scene, took on the challenge and after 27 holes, was 6 down with six to play.

To her credit, the determined Morrison dug deep and picked up three holes but Headlam was the victor finishing 3/2 to become the B grade champion. The C grade final over 18 holes was between ladies President, Mary Kentish and veteran Lois Harvey. This was a close match with neither player giving much leeway however, Kentish’s long game helped her secure her title finishing on the 17th hole with a score of 2/1.

The Championships were sponsored by SE Pine Sales and the prize for the best nett prize over the two qualifying rounds was won by Jennifer Van Rijthoven with a score of nett 145.

The D grade Championship was sponsored by Hopper Gabriel who supports the new players getting into the game of golf. They played an 18 hole stableford competition and this year’s winner was Jill Johnson, who has only been playing competition golf for about 2 months.

Johnson scored 33 points for her round and will no doubt progress through the grades in the future. Runner up was Maureen Sims with 29 points.

A casserole dinner was enjoyed by players and families followed by the presentation of trophies. While the championship finals were played, a stableford competition was held and Carol Smith took home the winner’s voucher with 39 points from Mardi Bawden with 36 points.

Jan Shanahan won the pro shot on the 8th hole. Only seven players ventured out on Easter Saturday with the hot weather deterring quite a few players. Di O’Donnell played some hot golf to finish with 38 points from Yvonne Shirley with 35 points.

- Buying, renting or selling? Don't go past -