Leading football women celebrated

After two big semi-finals on Sunday, the Limestone Coast Women’s Football League hosted its end of season presentations at McLaughlin Park. The toast of the night was Millicent young gun Ella Little, who won the best and fairest award with 15 votes. Little was also named as the best Under 21 player.

Her nearest challenger was Kalangadoo’s Jamie Ryan, who finished the count three votes behind on 12. The clear leading goal kicker was Della Hannaford of Kybybolite with 26 goals.

She finished five ahead of young South Gambier forward Neave Delaney. The 2021 LCWFL team of the year was also announced with Hannaford (Kybybolite), Angela Broad (Penola), Simone MacDonald (South Gambier), Delaney (South Gambier), Alice Tentye (South Gambier) and Annabel Mould (Kybybolite) completing the forward line.

Ryan (Kalangadoo) and Zoe Hawker (Mundulla) are positioned on the wings. In the midfield Alexandria Ey (Penola), Chloe Pratt (Kalangadoo), Tess Andrews (South Gambier) and Lauren Tink (Mundulla) take centre stage.

In the backline are Carly Ploenges (North Gambier), Caroline McGrath (Penola), Little (Millicent), Ella Jones (Kybybolite), Melinda Beers (North Gambier) and Scarlett Jarrad (Casterton-Sandford).

Kellsie Turner (Mundulla), Heidi Corey (Kongorong), Erin Horsnell (Casterton-Sandford), Maddi Turner (Millicent) and Kate Tomkins (Casterton-Sandford) are on the bench.

The coach is Penola’s Daniel Hackwill.

- Buying, renting or selling? Don't go past -