Limestone Coast towns in running for state award

Public voting has started to determine the five finalists for the 2022 AgTown award.

A total of 56 towns across the state have been nominated in the annual award, which is in its fourth year.

The South East nominations are Mount Gambier, Millicent, Beachport, Bordertown, Kingston, Naracoorte and Mundulla.

Voting is open until July 25 at to determine the five finalist towns to be announced in early August.

The finalists will then go through an independent judging process to determine which will be named 2022 Ag Town of the Year.

The competition is sponsored by the State Government and an Adelaide media company.

Minister for Primary Industries and Regional Development Clare Scriven said the award recognises towns excelling in agricultural practices and the flow on effect this has on communities.

“The Agricultural Town of the Year Award showcases the innovation of our regions and acknowledges the tremendous difference they make to our state,” Minister Scriven said.

“All South Australians benefit from our strong agricultural sector and regional communities.

“I encourage everyone who values our regions to get online, show your support and vote for your favourite town.

“I offer my congratulations to the 56 towns nominated, and thank all those people who took the time to enter their favourite towns and highlight the value their communities bring to our state.”

- Buying, renting or selling? Don't go past -