McBride awaits Liberal decision

Member for MacKillop Nick McBride will learn today if he will be the first local MP in 30 years to lead the Liberal Party.

Ex-Premier Steven Marshall is vacating the leadership at a party room meeting in Adelaide and Mr McBride is one of three contenders for the vacancy.

The others are former ministers Josh Teague and David Speirs with the latter considered to be the front-runner.

Mr McBride has been active since last month’s election and attended last week’s Wattle Range Council monthly meeting in Millicent.

The last local MP to lead the Liberals was the late Dale Baker who was at the helm from 1990 to 1992.

Meanwhile, a Beachport venue will tonight host the annual general meetings of the area’s sole political party.

The annual general meeting of the Millicent branch of the Liberal Party will be held at Bompas as well as the yearly forum of the Rendelsham branch of the Liberal Party.

The recent State Election and the upcoming Federal poll are certain to be discussed.

Among the items of business at the meeting are office-holder reports and elections as well as member recruitment.

- Buying, renting or selling? Don't go past -