Millicent holds on in tight finish

The Millicent Blackcaps snatched the 2020-21 Millicent and District Cricket Association title in thrilling style after a low-scoring arm wrestle with Beachport/Furner in last weekend’s grand final.

The Blackcaps batted first and slipped to 6/30 after a horror start.

However, Millicent’s tail rallied thanks to Josh Mason’s 49 and a 48-run last-wicket partnership.

The late fightback gave the Blackcaps the defendable score of 111 despite the best efforts of Hayden Biddle (3/15), Jase Bateman (2/11) and Sam Wallis (2/24) with the ball.

Millicent continued its momentum in the run chase by claiming four cheap top-order wickets.

Despite the early scare, Beachport/Furner stayed alive off the back of a spirited innings by Ty McManus.

His 46 propelled his team to the box seat with just 28 runs to win and six wickets in hand.

But once Steve Duldig broke McManus’ defences, Beachport/Furner had no answer and lost its last six wickets for just 15 runs to slump to an agonising 12-run defeat.

Duldig finished with the figures of 4/34, while Luke Stephens also impressed with 2/15.

For his fighting first-innings knock, Mason was named man of the match.

Cricketer of year was Rendelsham’s Tyson Smith, who also scored the most runs throughout the summer.

The bowling trophy went to Millicent’s Michael Gibson, while teammate Jaxon Cushion was the junior player of the year.

- Buying, renting or selling? Don't go past -