Robe rules the roost at home

The Roosters had a good 32-point win in the battle against the Tigers at home in the 11th round of the 2022 Mid South Eastern Football League season.

Robe was coming off the bye from last round with fresh legs while Tantanoola had an upset defeat against Nangwarry and wanted to bounce back so this game was in the balance and could have been either side taking the premiership points.

Although the score looks to be a solid win to Robe, the Tigers did take up the fight throughout the match and were relentless in doing so but could not get the win in the end.

For the home side Kaden Wooward, Jed Jarrett, Jasper Barritt, Jordan Hentschke and Kane Dunn were the Roosters’ best.

Tantanoola named Troy Hatt, Darcy Pink, Jordan Hatt, Matthew Sorella and Corey Barrett as their better players in the match.

Nangwarry v Hatherleigh

After last week’s win over Tantanoola, Nangwarry’s party was rained on by Hatherleigh to the tune of 169 points.

The Eagles piled on 10 goals in the first quarter to the Saints’ one in which set up the game for the visitors.

The onslaught continued in the second kicking another five majors to Nangwarry’s one point.

It was a nine goal third term for Hatherleigh and Nangwarry had no answer to a very powerful opponent but had some good patches of play.

It would have been pleasing for the Nangwarry faithful when with the home side kicked four majors to almost match the victors in the final term.

For the Saints Jack Pudney, Isaac Raymond, Thomas Vanderhorst, Riley Wiese, Matthew Pratt and Marcus Thomspon fought hard, but Bradley Mitchell, Lewis Walker, Jack Skeer, Joe Rayson, Mark Marriott and Zach Jones stood tall for Hatherleigh.

Kalangadoo v Kongorong

The might of the Magpies was on display despite the first quarter effort made by the rebuilding Hawks.

Kongorong matched all the play and efforts made by Kalangadoo on their home turf but poor disposal and inaccurate kicking let the Hawks down.

The Magpies swooped on these untimely errors and made every opportunity count not only across the ground but in front of goal.

At times the Hawks seemed to control the play and made the opposition run and chase them but the quick-thinking Magpies halted that.

Kalangadoo has a team that works for each other and it shows the way they adapt and play football.

Going into the first break the home side had a 17-point lead and was not out of the reach of Kongorong.

The second term was again controlled by the Magpies but the Hawks clawed in and the home side only managed to put on two goals and head to the half time break with a 35-point lead.

It was a goal juggernaut for the “Doo” in the third with a nine-goal term to the Hawks’ one to take a lead of 85 points and it was not the end of it.

Another 11 goals in the final term allowed Kalangadoo to sprint away with percentage booster and still sit on top of the ladder.

The Magpies flew strong and that was thanks to Patrick Davies, Tye McManus, Lachy Jones, Mitchel Lowe, Michael Krieger and Ben Gregory.

Jarrod Ryan, Aaron Lightbody, Marty Von Stanke , Tyson Modra and Matt Cordy were all solid for the Hawks.

It was also good to see a Western Border Football League senior umpire come and officiate in the game.

Mount Burr v Glencoe

In a tight battle right until the sound of the final siren Mount Burr came out with the premiership points by a Mozzie’s diaphragm over Glencoe.

The scores were evenly matched going into the first change with the Mozzies taking a one-point lead after both sides kicked three majors each.

The tight battle continued in the second quarter but inaccurate efforts by Glencoe in front of the big white posts ensured Mount Burr held on to a six-point lead.

Thing did not get better for the Murphies in the third term with them not being able to find the majors instead finding the minors and at the final change the Mozzies had a six-point lead.

In the final term both sides threw themselves at every contest with the home side kicking 1.3 to 1.5 and it was Mount Burr that came away with the chocolates as the Murphies would have been kicking themselves not being able to convert and going down by the slender of margins.

James Wallis, Tyler Stanley, Jacob Gregory, Kallan Bevan, Peter Guyett and Josh Wallis were named in the Burr’s best while the Murphies best were Andrew Gray, Brodie Glynn, Zacc Cocks, Tory Weaver, Patrick Mitchell and Sam Giersch.

- Buying, renting or selling? Don't go past -