Search on for South Australia’s top cop

Nominations are now open for the 2022 South Australia Police Officer of the Year award.

Past recipients include retired Mount Gambier and Millicent Sergeant Steve Hill and Beachport’s Peter Phillips.

The South Australia Police Officer of the Year award is given to an individual who, in serving the community, displays high standards of professionalism; or performs significant acts of courtesy, kindness, understanding or courage, or handles a complex and difficult situation with humanity, or provides significant off-duty community volunteering.

Presented annually since 1978 by the Rotary Club of Unley, the award seeks to increase awareness of the policing role in the community and offers an opportunity for community members to recognise an outstanding and committed police officer.

Last year’s winner of the South Australia Police Officer of the Year was Senior Constable First Class Michael Klose who has made an outstanding contribution to the development and deployment of police bicycle patrols.

His efforts have been integral to enabling South Australia Police to respond to a range of policing tasks where the use of bicycle patrols is significantly more advantageous than other forms of policing.

The recipient will be selected by the Rotary Club of Unley in consultation with the Commissioner of Police.

The 2022 winner will be announced at a public ceremony held during the Royal Adelaide Show at the Wayville Showground on September 9.

Any member of the public is able to nominate.

Nominations close on July 22.

- Buying, renting or selling? Don't go past -