Toast of the town

Toast of the town

Port MacDonnell playing coach Josh Woodall is the toast of the Mid South East Football League following his Mail Medal win announced at Millicent on Sunday afternoon.

His tally of 24 votes was six more than Hatherleigh vice-captain Jed Telfer who was awarded the Walker Medal.

According to the pundits, this pair had been in contention for the league trophy which is awarded to the fairest and most brilliant player in the competition.

Both are high possession winners, possess a strong work ethic and are always in the umpire’s eye.

Telfer had led the voting at the half-way mark of the count but Woodall stormed home with votes in seven of his last eight games.

It has been a remarkable first season for Woodall as he took the Demons to the minor premiership with only two defeats.

In his acceptance speech, Woodall praised the MSEFL for the warmth of the welcome extended to himself and his family

Sunday was one of the highlights of the 2023 season for the Mid SE football and netball fraternity with the announcement of awards across all grades in morning and afternoon presentations at the Millicent War Memorial Civic and Arts Centre.

Kalangadoo’s Abbey Duncan won the Mid SE Netball A Grade Best and Fairest Trophy with 31 votes and the runner/up was Glencoe’s Sarah Edwards on 22.

Tantanoola’s Cade Kelly was the winner of the Radio MMM Farmer Phil Scanlon Memorial Rookie of the Year.

It has been awarded for the past 17 seasons and honours the memory of the one-time East Gambier champion and coach of Hatherleigh, Glencoe and Nangwarry.

It was presented by his long-time radio colleague and MSEFL life member J.L. “Fred” Smith.

Kelly played 16 A Grade games and 16 senior colts’ games for the Tigers during the minor round and won his second Malseed Medal as the league best and fairest senior colt during the morning presentation.

MSE Netball Association life memberships were awarded to long-serving executives Sara Gray and Jacqui Cocks.

The Carthew Medal for B Grade best and fairest was won by Hatherleigh’s Ethan Bowman while the MSEFL coach of the year was Nangwarry’s Shane Raymond.

For the 15th time, former Wattle Range Council chief executive Frank Brennan was the master of ceremonies for the Mail Medal afternoon function.

The host club was the Robe Football Club and Roosters president Deb Mackey welcomed the 250 in attendance.

They included SANFL officials, life members, sponsors, trophy donors and Member for MacKillop Nick McBride.

Earlier in the day, the trophy winners in junior netball/football Mid SE grades were presented.

The attention of the Mid SE players and supporters now turns to the cut-throat preliminary final at Robe on Saturday.

Why wait? Get more stories like this delivered straight to your inbox
Join our digital edition mailing list and stay up to date on the latest news, events and special announcements from across the Limestone Coast.

Your local real estate guide - every Thursday


You might also like