Pestka powers to SA title win

Pestka powers to SA title win

The Pro Sprints SA Title and Modified Sedan SA Title were run and won on the weekend in front of an excitable crowd at the Borderline Speedway.

Daniel Pestka won the Pro Sprints SA Title, which was heavily contested by 26 competitors, much to the delight of car owner Jamie Sparks from Port MacDonnell.

Australian sprint car number one Mark Caruso finished 1.246 seconds behind Pestka to claim second followed by his brother Steve Caruso rounding out third and Mount Gambier’s own Scott Enderl in fourth.

Mark Caruso will defend his number one ranking against Pestka, Steve Caruso and Enderl at the Australian Pro Sprintcar Title at Avalon Raceway in Geelong on April 12-13.

The Modified Sedan SA Title was won by Queensland’s Aiden Raymont followed by Western Australia number one Joel Berkely in second and Victorian Dylan Barrows in third.

Heathe Thorne was the first South Australian home in fifth with local Corey Knox involved in an incident in the final laps to cut her performance short.

In the Junior Sedans Top Stars, Flynn Annette from Portland placed first trailed by Millicent’s Jayden Garner in second and Shannon Burns from Mildura rounding out the podium in third.

The Junior Sedans New Stars was won by Portland’s Jake Wenner while third generation drivers and cousins Violet Thorne and first timer Demi Jennings finished second and third.

The next major Sprintcar show at the Borderline Speedway will be the Easter Sprintcar Trail on March 30.

Why wait? Get more stories like this delivered straight to your inbox
Join our digital edition mailing list and stay up to date on the latest news, events and special announcements from across the Limestone Coast.

Your local real estate guide - every Thursday


You might also like