Regional bowling showdown

Millicent was the centre of bowls last weekend hosting the finale of the 2020-21 Lower South East Bowls Association season.

Despite the cold conditions, it was a fitting occasion with almost every rink filled with players, while plenty of spectators also enjoyed the action.

One team to capitalise on the big day was Mount Gambier, which outbowled minor-premier Naracoorte in a tight battle for the Open Division 1 title on Saturday.

Naracoorte’s David O’Shaughnessy was successful with a nine-shot win, but his teammates could not continue the good work as Mount Gambier took control on the other two rinks.

Tony Bowditch’s four was in fine form with a 31-17 win for Mount Gambier, while the Daniel Langdon prevailed by six shots in the closest tussle.

ROLLING IN: Mount Gambier’s Tony Renzi focuses on the trajectory of his bowl during Saturday’s Division 1 grand final at Millicent against Naracoorte. Pic: Thomas Miles

The pair of victorious rink ensured Mount Gambier took home the trophy by 11 shots.

Open Division 2 rivals Mount Gambier Red and Mount Gambier RSL faced off with the former taking home the spoils of victory.

All three rinks led by Stephen Farrell, Ian Von Stanke and Jeffrey England claimed solid wins to record an overall 95-56 triumph.

Division 3 Open Mount Gambier RSL minor premier could not get the job dine against Lucindale.

Apart from a 19 shots each tie between Alby McIntyre and Richard Graetz, Lucindale won the big moments after skippers Malcolm Graetz and Peter Kurray led their club to compile 19 more shots than Mount Gambier RSL.

Kalangadoo and Frances have been the top performers throughout the season in the Open Division 4 North category and squared off once again in the decider.

Despite Kalangadoo’s Graham Casey leading his group to victory, respective 14 and eight shot wins skippered by Neil Firth and Patrick Eylward got the job done.

Although Robe lost one rink by a single shot, Alistair Douglas and David Robinson fought back to push the team past Mount Gambier RSL in the Open Division 4 South conference finale.

The Ladies’ Pennants premierships were also decided at Millicent last Friday.

After a competitive Division 1 season, Port MacDonnell and Mount Gambier Red were the only sides left standing.

The pair played out an entertaining final both enjoying blowout wins which made for interesting reading on the overall scoreboard.

Mount Gambier RSL Red claimed the big prize by just five shots after a big 41-24 win from Jennifer Bowering despite Port MacDonnell’s Heather Richards skippering a 12-shot triumph.

It was an all Naracoorte affair in the Ladies Division 2 season and that continued to be the case.

Naracoorte won the bragging rights over Naracoorte RSL after a 15-shot win led by Bev King and Christine Murphy.

Beachport continued its dominance in Division 3 by recording a 55-28 win against Mount Gambier last week thanks to skippers Parmela Hales and Annemarie Goode.

CHAMPIONS: Port MacDonnell’s Judith Grosvenor (back left), Jan Dowdell, Lyn Vanderley, Sharon Perryman, Marilyn Sutton, Heather Richards (front left), Robyn Burley, Roma Henderson and Jennie Tilley won the Division 1 Ladies grand final against Mount Gambier RSL Red last weekend.

- Buying, renting or selling? Don't go past -