Veteran golfers make long drive

The Lower South East Veteran Golfers Association held its 2022 Golfing Getaway in the Barossa Valley recently.

A total of 41 golfers plus 17 non-golfers took part in a successful week of golf, friendship and fun.

The majority of the group were based in Nuriootpa at the Vine Inn Hotel, while others stayed in caravan parks in Nuriootpa and Tanunda.

Golfers played at the Barossa Valley, Sandy Creek and Tanunda Pines golf courses across four days of competition.

The winner of Mondays men’s competition was Grant Rowe (Millicent) with 38 points.

Rowe just crept ahead of Mount Gambier’s David McPherson with the difference just one point.

NTP went to former Millicent player, Michael McRostie (Victor Harbor) and David Seymour (Millicent) won the Ross Orchard Award.

Competition was close in the ladies competition with Rosie Wright (Kingston) winning with 32 points on a countback from Yvonne Shirley (Mount Gambier).

On Tony Wilson (Robe) took the men’s honours with 40 points, three clear of runner-up Rowe, while NTP for the second day in a row was McRostie.

For the second straight day a countback was required to determine the winner of the ladies competition.

Hope Bliss (Mt Gambier) eventually secured the honours after tying with Wright who also had 32 points.

Winner of Thursdays men’s competition was Brian Prosser (Kingston) with 30 points.

But it was not as simple as it sounds, with Mount Gambier’s Grant Stephenson also collecting 30 points and a countback was required to separate them.

NTP was Brian Prosser while Rowe had to settle for the Ross Orchard award after two good rounds.

Dianne Collins (Kingston) won the ladies competition with 32 points.

She enjoyed a three-point gap ahead of Wright, who also won the NTP.

Winner of Fridays men’s competition was Doug Robbins (Blue Lake) with 36 points, just one point clear of Prosser.

Millicent pair Herman Vanderheul and Rob Childs won the NTP and Ross Orchard awards respectively.

Wright won the ladies competition with 36 points from Jan Chalmers (Kingston) who had 33 points.

The men’s 72-hole winner was Wilson with 126 points, who only just held off the consistent Colin Wright (Kingston) on 125.

Prosser was third with 124 points while Millicent duo, Ron Hateley and Glen Tilley tied for fourth with 121 points.

The Ross Orchard award for the week was won by Brian Thomson (Millicent).

The Ladies 72-hole winner was Wright with 129 points.

She enjoyed a 10-point gap to Dianne Collins with Jan Chalmers in third on 118 points.

A team event also took place and the winners were Malcolm Collins (Kingston), Hateley, Phil Hunter (Millicent) abd Prosser with 475 points.

The runners-up were McRostie, Brian Duldig (Millicent),Rowe and Dianne Collins with 462 points.

- Buying, renting or selling? Don't go past -